About the Hungarian National Commission for UNESCO

UNESCO is the only UN Agency to have a global network of national cooperating bodies known as National Commissions for UNESCO. National Commissions make part of the overall constitutional architecture of the Organization. 

Set up by their respective governments in accordance with the Article VII of the UNESCO Constitution,  the National Commissions operate, on a permanent basis, for the purpose of associating their governmental and non-governmental bodies in education, sciences, culture and communication with the work of the Organization. Beside the Constitution of UNESCO, the current legal framework for the Hungarian National Commission for UNESCO is Government decree 17/2012. (II. 16.). The Commission has seven Committees such as Education, Natural Sciences, Social Sciences, Culture, Communication and Information, Intangible Cultural Heritage, and World Heritage. Operational and administrative task related to the Commission are provided by the Secretariat which is a unit headed by the Secretary-General within the Ministry of Human Capacities. Chairs of the Committees and the President of the Commission are appointed jointly by the Minister of Human Capacities, the President of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences https://mta.hu/english, and the President of the Hungarian Academy of Arts https://www.mma.hu/en/web/en.

Presently, there are 199 National Commissions for UNESCO across the world. They constitute a truly global family as an authoritative network of stakeholders, partners and experts and offer a comparative advantage to the Organization within the United Nations system. This network plays a significant role in the liaison with partners, the coordination of activities and the promotion of UNESCO’s visibility at the country level.

The Paris-based UNESCO Secretariat main communication channel with Hungary are the Permanent Delegation of Hungary to UNESCO, https://oecd-parizs.mfa.gov.hu/eng the National Commission, as well as the ministries concerned.


The President of the Commission: Miklós Réthelyi 

Secretary-General: Gábor Soós

Chairs of the Committees: 

Education Committee: Katalin Czippán

Natural Sciences Committee: Ervin Balázs

Social Sciences Committee: Ferenc Miszlivetz

Culture Committee: László Csorba

Communication and Information: László Z. Karvalics

Intangible Cultural Heritage Committee: Eszter Csonka-Takács

World Heritage Committee: Gábor Virágos